The Beatles- White Album

When Matt asked me to write a guest post on one of his Beatles albums, it seemed only fitting to pick not only an album that I own myself (duh), but the album with my namesake track, “Julia.” The song has a soft sweetness to it. It had a personal significance to John Lennon being that it was written about his late mother who was killed in a car accident when he was a teen. The song has a personal significance to me as well, being that it reminds me of my childhood next door neighbor who I would babysit, and who (at age four) would dance around the living room to Beatles songs with me. For my 17th birthday he (with the help of his dad) made me a CD (cd’s…weird right?) with the first two songs being “Julia” and “Birthday,” another White Album track.

20170503_175309.jpg

The White Album is filled with lots of deep track Beatles songs, but several tracks are notable standouts, such as “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” and “Dear Prudence.” “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” which featured Eric Clapton, is quite simply incredible, even though the the song brings to mind the turmoil in the band at the time. I find myself humming it on a fairly regular basis, and after seeing a video of Prince and Tom Petty playing it at a concert honoring George Harrison, I pretty much became convinced that Prince is a god among men. In a hauntingly beautiful minor key, the track is widely considered Harrison’s best song–I can’t disagree.

20170503_175254
Several other songs that I enjoy on the track that don’t get as much critical acclaim are “Back in the USSR,” “Rocky Raccoon,” and “The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill.” The album is packed with creativity and is definitely worth a re-listen from time to time, even nearly five decades after it was released.

-Julia Farnham

Leave a Reply

