Adele- 25

I professed my love for Adele in my last post so if you want to know why I have two Adele albums in Matt’s collection, see that one.

 I joked with Matt about a variety of ways this post could go because, well, there’s a lot more build up for the album that includes the song “Hello.”

“Hello” spurred numerous parodies and of course the great SNL skit that featured a politically divisive family brought together during the tumultuous time of Thanksgiving 2016.

But really, if this album brings anything to mind immediately upon reaching for it to play is the fact that it won Best Album at the Grammys this year. That’s a tall order. I haven’t listened since before the news broke.

25 starts strong with “Hello” and “I Miss You.” The ballads on this album are undoubtedly more mature but they still offer the same soul warming feelings that are found on past records. Others have accused Adele of cornering the sad ballad market, I think Adele delivers a more modern, poppy version of the sadness that so many find relatable.

Needless to say, it’s not Album of the Year, in my opinion, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t a great album. Anyone want to buy Matt Lemonade so I can review that next?

-Bridget

Leave a Reply

